Home Menu


Inaugural Taos Writers Conference - SOMOS the Literary Heart of Taos

Posted Feb 2, 2017

The inaugural Taos Writers Conference is presented by SOMOS, the literary society of Taos since 1983.

The three-day conference includes a selection of five one-day intensives on Friday, 3/10/17, and fourteen three-hour workshops, with over twenty instructors, in various genres including poetry, fiction, nonfiction, playwriting and publishing on Saturday and Sunday, March 11 and 12.

For our first conference we are highlighting our local talented authors/instructors, many of whom have won national awards for their publications, as a way to “Celebrate the Creative Spirit in Taos.” The faculty pulls from Taos's rich community of writers: Sawnie Morris, Allegra Huston, Veronica Golos, David Perez, John Biscello, Cherie Burns, Steve Fox, Lise Goett, Sean Murphy and Mirabai Starr.

Roundtable discussions on publishing and finding an agent are optional activities, as is yoga in the mornings. Open Mic Night is Saturday at 7:00pm.

Friday evening's keynote speaker is Anthony Marra, New York Times bestselling author of A Constellation of Vital Phenomena, winner of the National Book Critics Circle’s John Leonard Prize, the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award in fiction, and the Barnes and Noble Discover Award. Out currently is his second book, a collection of short stories, The Tsar of Love and Techno. His talk will be held in the Harwood Museum of Art Arthur Bell Auditorium at 7:00pm. Tickets can be purchased in advance by calling (575) 758-9826 or at The Harwood Museum.

For all information about the conference, including tuition and full class descriptions, visit

Pictured: author Anthony Marra

Visit Site